Beavertail Rd., Jamestown
On the east side of the Newport Bridge on Rt.138, take East Shore Rd. through Jamestown then follow signs to Beavertail State Park. The Lighthouse was
built in 1749.
Block Island North Light ............... 466-3200
Built in 1867, the lighthouse is now restored into a maritime museum and open to the public during the summer. Hiking trails surround the lighthouse.
Block Island Southeast Light
Call 1-800-383-BIRI for information about Block Island Lighthouses.
The Southeast Light was built in 1875. It boasts a stunning 67” octagonal tower and a red brick Victorian style keeper’s house. Nature programs are offered at nearby Mohegan Bluffs.
Castle Hill Lighthouse
Located near the Coast Guard Station on Castle Hill Road in Newport, Castle Hill Lighthouse was built in 1890.
Dutch Island Light
Narragansett Bay light station.
This light is inactive and was built in 1826.
Old Lime Rock Lighthouse
Plum Beach Light
Built in 1897 in Jamestown, this spark plug style lighthouse is inactive. It can be seen from the Jamestown Bridge.
Point Judith Lighthouse Narragansett ............... 789-0444
The original lighthouse was built in 1806. The current building was erected in 1816. Visitors are welcome to tour the grounds; however, the lighthouse and Coast Guard Station are restricted. From US 1 drive south on Rt.108 to the Coast Guard Station at Pt. Judith. Open daily sunrise to sunset.
Rose Island Lighthouse Newport ............... 847-4242
Visitors re-enter a bygone way of life in the keeper's quarters circa 1912; touring the station from windmill to cellar cistern, ending at the 1798 barracks of Ft. Hamilton. Overnight visitors actually participate in the adventure of lighthouse keeping. Fishing, swimming, and beach combing are available on Rose Island. Call for hours, reservations, and information on school tours or overnights. Landing fee $5 for all. Not recommended for children under 5. roseislandlighthouse.org
Sakonnet Point Lighthouse
7 Sakonnet Point, Little Compton. Visible from 9-8.
Watch Hill Lighthouse
Lighthouse Rd., Westerly. The lighthouse was built in 1807. The museum and US Coast Guard Station are open Tues. & Thurs., 1-3pm. Grounds are open daily from 8-8.
Whale Rock Lighthouse
In Narragansett, this lighthouse was built in 1882 but was destroyed in 1938. The base (very visible at low tide) remains as a monument to the
lighthouse keeper who perished there in the ‘38 hurricane.